An Osmania University PhD thesis is typed on both sides of A4 sheets in Times New Roman 12 point with 1.5 line spacing, with references in one standard style (APA 7th, IEEE, Harvard or Oxford), and bound to the University Library’s norms. The thesis must pass a similarity check at 10% or less, and under the 2026-27 rules also an AI-generated content check at 20% or less. You submit four soft-bound copies and a CD to the Controller of Examinations, and two hard-bound copies after the viva. The rules say nothing about margins, page numbering or the order of the front pages.
All of this comes from Osmania University’s own Ph.D. Rules and Regulations: the 2026-27 edition, approved by the Standing Committee of the Academic Senate on 14 May and 20 August 2026, and the 2024-25 edition it follows. Both are linked from the university’s Ph.D. page. We give the clause for each rule and say where the rules are silent or unclear. Last reviewed September 2026.
What thesis format does Osmania University prescribe?
Very little, and all of it sits in one clause. Clause 27.13(i) of the 2026-27 rules is four sentences long. There is no separate thesis manual, no specimen title page and no model certificate that we could find on osmania.ac.in.
| Item | What the 2026-27 rules say | Clause |
|---|---|---|
| Paper | A4, typed on both sides | 27.13(i) |
| Font | Times New Roman, 12 point | 27.13(i) |
| Line spacing | 1.5 | 27.13(i) |
| Drawings and maps | The paper, font and spacing rules do not apply to them | 27.13(i) |
| References | One standard style: “API-VII” (read as APA 7th), IEEE, Harvard or Oxford | 27.13(i) |
| Binding | “Binding should confirm [sic] to the norms fixed by the University Library.” The norms themselves are not in the rules | 27.13(i) |
| Copies for evaluation | Four soft-bound copies and a soft copy on CD | 27.5 |
| Copies after the viva | Two hard-bound copies and two soft copies | 30.2 |
| Similarity | Similarity index not above 10%, AI-generated content similarity not above 20% | 27.4(a), 28.1 |
| Margins, page numbering, heading sizes, page order, page limit, cover colour | Not stated | None |
The reference style line is new in 2026-27. The rules write “API-VII”, which almost certainly means APA 7th edition (there is no citation style called API). If you use APA, our APA 7 formatting guide covers theses. The clause says “a standard style i.e. API-VII / IEEE / Harvard / Oxford”, and “i.e.” makes that read as a closed list. If your discipline uses Chicago or MLA, get written approval from the Board of Studies or the Examination Branch before you commit to it; your supervisor’s agreement alone may not be enough.
For everything the table marks “not stated”, the common Indian practice is to leave extra room on the left for the binding (roughly an inch and a half) and an inch on the remaining edges, with roman numerals for the front pages and arabic from Chapter 1. That is convention, not an Osmania rule. The binding norms are with the University Library, so ask the library before you order covers. Don’t copy the layout of a senior’s thesis without checking: the rules were rewritten in 2024 and again in 2026.
What must be bound inside an Osmania PhD thesis?
The rules don’t give a page order, but they do name things that must be inside the bound thesis:
- A certificate from your supervisor that the thesis is your original work (clause 27.5).
- Your declaration that the thesis, in part or in full, is not part of any thesis, dissertation or monograph submitted by you or anyone else to this or any other university (clause 27.5). The rules describe what it must say but give no fixed wording.
- Reprints of your published papers, as an appendix (clauses 25 and 27.8). Clause 25 asks for the “reprint in original”, so a downloaded PDF printed at home may not satisfy the office.
- An errata sheet, if the examiners asked for minor corrections. These are incorporated and the errata are enclosed and shown to the viva board (clause 28.10).
The 2024-25 rules (clause 27.1) also said the plagiarism certificate “should be enclosed in the thesis”. The 2026-27 rules instead list it among the documents submitted with the thesis (clauses 27.4 and 28.3). Binding it in does no harm, and it saves an argument at the counter.
What follows is common practice, not an Osmania rule. For page order, start with the title page, then put your declaration and the supervisor’s certificate before the acknowledgements. The abstract comes next, followed by the table of contents and the lists (tables, figures, abbreviations). After the chapters and references, the appendices close the volume, with the reprints last. Our thesis structure guide explains the chapters. If your department has a preferred order, it wins.
One clause is easy to miss. Under clause 18.3, if a Pro-tem Supervisor (normally the Head) takes over in your last year, your original supervisor’s name still goes on the thesis and the synopsis.
What is the plagiarism limit for an Osmania PhD thesis?
10% similarity, and since 2026-27 a separate ceiling of 20% for AI-generated content. Clause 28.1 says the thesis “shall be subjected to plagiarism check using the University approved plagiarism detection software”, with the similarity index not exceeding 10% and AI-generated content similarity not exceeding 20%, citing the UGC’s 2018 plagiarism regulations. Clause 27.4(a) makes you sign an undertaking with the same two figures.
Two practical points. First, 10% is the ceiling, not a target. Different tools give different numbers for the same file, so aim well below it on the university’s own software. Our plagiarism limits guide explains what is normally excluded (quotations, references, common phrases) and how the UGC bands work.
Second, the AI limit. The UGC 2018 regulations don’t mention AI at all, so this 20% is Osmania’s own rule. The rules don’t name the software, say which parts of the thesis are checked, or say who runs the check. AI detectors are also known to flag heavily edited or formulaic academic English written by people. If a report comes back high on text you wrote yourself, keep your drafts and version history; they are your evidence. For what is safe to use, read our guide to AI tools in a PhD.
Clause 28.3 is blunt: incomplete submissions, or submissions that don’t meet these requirements, are rejected. Clause 26.6 adds that a result can be withheld or cancelled for plagiarism even after it is published.
What changed in the 2026-27 Osmania PhD rules?
If your seniors submitted under the 2024-25 rules, their advice is now partly out of date. These are the changes that touch the thesis and its submission:
| Item | 2024-25 rules | 2026-27 rules |
|---|---|---|
| Reference style | Not mentioned | A standard style: APA 7th, IEEE, Harvard or Oxford (27.13) |
| Similarity limit | 10%, with the certificate enclosed in the thesis (27.1) | 10% similarity and 20% AI-generated content (27.4, 28.1) |
| Journals for the two papers | Scopus, Web of Science or UGC-CARE (24) | Scopus or Web of Science only (25) |
| New certificates | None | SDG mapping certificate and a Research Advisory Committee originality certificate (27.4, 28.2) |
| Thesis fee | Demand draft to the Controller of Examinations (26.6) | Online payment receipt (27.6) |
| Incomplete submission | Not addressed | Rejected at the Examination Branch (28.3) |
The journal change is the one that hurts. A scholar with two UGC-CARE papers who expected to submit this year may now need a Scopus or Web of Science paper. Check which rules apply to your batch before you plan another paper.
The SDG certificate is new territory for most departments. Clause 20.4 now asks for coursework to be mapped to a relevant Sustainable Development Goal, and clauses 27.4(c) and 28.2 ask for a certificate linking your thesis to one or more SDGs, signed by you, your supervisor, the Head, the Chairperson of the Board of Studies and the Dean. Nothing in the rules says what the certificate should contain. Most scholars can name the goal their work serves in a paragraph; get the form from your department.
How do you submit a PhD thesis at Osmania University?
A full-time scholar can submit after three years of research and a part-time scholar after four, counted from the date of joining (clause 27.1). The sequence below follows clauses 23, 25, 27 and 28 of the 2026-27 rules.
Publish two papers
At least two papers from the thesis work, published jointly with your supervisor in Scopus or Web of Science journals. Keep the original reprints.
Pre-submission seminar
Present the whole work in your department with a draft thesis on the table, within six months before you submit. Put the audience’s suggestions into the final manuscript.
Synopsis and examiner panel
At least three months before submission, your supervisor sends six copies of the synopsis and a panel of twelve examiners, sealed as confidential, to the Chairperson, Board of Studies.
Similarity check
Run the thesis through the software the university approves. The similarity index must be 10% or less and AI-generated content 20% or less.
Submit to the Controller of Examinations
Four soft-bound copies, the CD, the application form, the online fee receipt and the certificates listed in clauses 27.4 to 27.12.
Evaluation and viva
Three external examiners report on the thesis. If all three recommend the award, your department holds an open viva before a five-member board.
Final copies
After the viva, and after making the board’s corrections, hand in two hard-bound copies and two soft copies. The result is declared only after that.
A few details that catch people out:
- The panel expires. The approved panel of twelve examiners lapses six months after approval (clause 27.13(v)). If you slip past that, a new panel is needed. Osmania supervisors and your relatives can’t be on it (27.13(iv)).
- The synopsis goes first. Examiners get the synopsis and agree to evaluate before they see the thesis (clause 28.5), so it has to stand on its own. See our synopsis format guide.
- Seminar certificates. All three (Research Design, Research Progress and Pre-Submission) must be enclosed, with the RAC certification and the SDG certificate (clause 23.5). Our pre-submission seminar guide covers preparation.
- No-dues from five places: Chief Warden, Principal of your campus college, Head of Department, the department seminar librarian and the University Librarian (clause 27.12).
The rules say the university will “endeavor” to complete the whole evaluation, up to declaring the viva-voce result, in six months from the date you submit (clause 27.13(vi)). If an examiner’s report hasn’t come in after three months, the thesis can go to a fourth examiner from the panel (clause 28.9).
How does an Osmania thesis reach Shodhganga?
Through the final copies. After a successful viva and after you incorporate the board’s suggestions, you submit two hard-bound copies and two soft copies (clause 30.2). One hard-bound copy goes to the University General Library and the other to your department’s seminar library. One soft copy is sent to the UGC within 30 days of the award for hosting on INFLIBNET, which means Shodhganga, and the other is hosted on the Osmania website (clause 30.3). The Controller of Examinations declares your result only after all four copies are in.
The rules don’t specify the file format, a size limit, chapter-wise splitting or an embargo option. Shodhganga generally takes PDFs, so make the soft copy a clean PDF that matches the bound copy page for page, with the signed certificates scanned in. Our Shodhganga guide explains the rest.
Osmania PhD thesis checklist before you print
Every item traces to a clause of the 2026-27 rules. If you are at JNTU Hyderabad instead, the format is quite different; see our JNTU thesis format guide.
- A4, both sides, Times New Roman 12, 1.5 spacing throughout the text (drawings and maps excepted).
- References in one standard style (APA 7th, IEEE, Harvard or Oxford), used the same way in every chapter.
- Supervisor’s certificate of originality and your declaration, in the words clause 27.5 describes, bound into each copy.
- Reprints of your two Scopus or Web of Science papers bound in as an appendix.
- Similarity report at 10% or less and AI-content report at 20% or less, from the software the university approves.
- Seminar certificates for all three seminars, the RAC certificate and the SDG mapping certificate, each signed by everyone the rules name.
- Synopsis and panel of twelve examiners sent through your supervisor at least three months earlier, and the panel still within its six months.
- Four soft-bound copies and a CD, bound to whatever the University Library currently asks for.
- Coursework memo, UG and PG degree copies, admission and extension letters, and no-dues certificates from the Chief Warden, Principal, Head, department seminar librarian and University Librarian.
Our thesis formatting service can make fonts, spacing, headings, numbering and references consistent with these rules before you print. It covers presentation only; the research and the writing stay yours.
Sources
- Osmania University: Ph.D. Rules and Regulations (Revised), with effect from 2026-27 (approved by the Standing Committee of the Academic Senate, 14.05.2026 and 20.08.2026); clauses 18.3, 20.4, 23.5, 25, 27, 28 and 30
- Osmania University: Revised Ph.D. Rules and Regulations, with effect from 2024-25 (approved 25.06.2024, 16.11.2024, 25.01.2025 and 13.06.2025); clauses 24, 26 and 27.1
- Osmania University: Ph.D. admissions and regulations page
- UGC (Promotion of Academic Integrity and Prevention of Plagiarism in Higher Educational Institutions) Regulations, 2018
- Shodhganga: a reservoir of Indian theses (INFLIBNET)
FAQ
Questions scholars ask
What font and spacing does Osmania University require for a PhD thesis?
Times New Roman, 12 point, with 1.5 line spacing, typed on both sides of A4 paper. That is clause 27.13(i) of the 2026-27 rules, and the 2024-25 rules said the same. Drawings and maps are exempt.
What margins should I use for an Osmania PhD thesis?
The rules don’t say. By convention, Indian theses leave roughly an inch and a half at the left edge for the binding and an inch at the other three. Confirm with your department and the University Library, whose norms govern binding.
How much plagiarism is allowed in an Osmania PhD thesis?
A similarity index of 10% or less, on the software the university approves. Under the 2026-27 rules, AI-generated content similarity must also be 20% or less. You sign an undertaking with both figures when you submit.
Are UGC-CARE papers accepted for PhD submission at Osmania?
Under the 2024-25 rules, yes: Scopus, Web of Science or UGC-CARE. The 2026-27 rules list only Scopus and Web of Science. You need at least two papers, published jointly with your supervisor. Ask your department which rules apply to your batch.
How many copies of the thesis does Osmania University need?
Four soft-bound copies and a CD for evaluation, submitted to the Controller of Examinations. After the viva, two hard-bound copies and two soft copies, one of which goes to the UGC for Shodhganga.
Can I write my Osmania thesis in Telugu or Urdu?
The PhD rules don’t address the language of the thesis. They only say the coursework examination is in English except where the subject’s medium of instruction is another language (clause 21.3). Ask your Board of Studies before you start writing.
